2024-25 WIN COMMITTEE REPORTS

COMMITTEE ON DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION

Marife Aczon-Armstrong, Marjorie Attis-Josias, Bantale (Remi) Ayisire, Annie Boehning, Mary Lou de Leon Siantz, Nuhad Dumit, Timian Godfrey, Consuelo Grant, Razel Milo, Rana Najjar, Austin Nation, Cynthia Sanchez, Krista Scorsone, Linda Trader, Shu-Yi (Emily) Wang, Board Liaison: Lauren Clark

For the 2025 conference, the committee developed a preconference workshop, "Using Healing and Learning Circles to Find a Common Language: An Equity-Centered Trauma-Informed Approach," along with land acknowledgements for each of the plenary sessions. The committee also organized the panel session, "How Can WIN Better Engage with the National Coalition of Ethnic Minority Nurses Associations (NCEMNA)?" The committee selected the recipient of the 2025 conference scholarship award.

DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Chair: Cheryl Armstrong, Ginette Pepper, Kathleen Thimsen, Kyla Woodward, Board Liaison: Heather Coats

Donor pages on the website have been reorganized and now include information on charitable distributions and donor-advised funds. As of April 3, the committee has raised \$15,692 toward the annual goal of \$20,000 and an additional \$1,975 toward the endowment fund.

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Chair: Catherine Kleiner, Stacey Al-Saleh, Patricia Barfield, Mary Ellen Dellefield, Lisa Jaurigue, Bret Lyman, Mary Nies, Jennifer Stephens, Alice Tse, Board Liaison: Patricia Daly

As of April 3, membership includes: 360 Individual members; 52 Designated Individual members; 258 Student members; 22 New Graduate members; 25 Retired members; 20 Emeriti (active); and 52 Organizational members.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Chair: Timothy Sowicz, Cynthia Reber, Schola Matovu

The committee worked to secure a slate of candidates for the 2025 election to fill the positions of President-Elect, Governor Representative of Nursing Practice, Governor Representative of Nursing Research, Governor Representative of Student Members, and Nominating Committee Position #3. The ballot was sent to current WIN members in late January and remained open for two weeks. The results of the election were announced in February. For the 2026 election, the committee anticipates soliciting candidates for the positions of Governor Representative of Nursing Education and Nominating Committee Position #1. The Call for Nominations will be issued in the summer.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Chair: Kristin Lutz, Michael Aldridge, Alycia Bristol, Andra Davis, Catherine De Leon, Cara Gallegos, Perry Gee, Abigail Gomez-Morales, Martha L. Grubaugh, Seiko Izumi, Ahlam Jadalla, Ryoko Kausler, Hannah Kim, Mary Koithan, Cherry Leung, Lauri Linder, Paula Meek, Joanne Noone, Jessica Rainbow, Krista Scorsone, Ruth Taylor-Piliae, Doria Thiele, Alice Tse, Teresa Ward, Kristi Westphaln, Fang Yu, Shumenghui Zhai Committee members, with the support of WIN members, reviewed 492 abstracts submitted for presentation at the 2025 conference. 148 abstracts are being presented in podium sessions at the 2025 conference, including 41 abstracts in eight symposia. 413 posters are being presented at the 2025 conference, including 175 posters in the Research and Information Exchange (R&IE). The 2026 conference will be held in San Francisco from April 21-24, and the committee has selected the theme, "Navigating the Currents in Healthcare and Academia: Bridging Research, Practice, and Education." Dr. Jennifer Mensik, ANA, will deliver the 2026 Keynote Address and State of the Science speakers include Holli DeVon, UCLA and Heather Young, UC Davis. The Call for Abstracts will open in July, and the abstract submission deadline will be Wednesday, October 15, 2025.

RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Chair: Jenny Firkins, Hollie Caldwell, Yuqing Guo, Teri Hernandez, Linda Kim, Sally Moyce, Lindsey Tarasenko, Andrea Wallace, Allison Webel, Board Liaison: Paula Meek

Committee members reviewed applications for the Sigma/WIN Research Grant, the Carol A. Lindeman Award for a New Researcher, and the Marty Lentz WIN/CANS Dissertation Grant. The recipient of the 2025 Sigma/WIN Research Grant is Erin George, University of Arizona College of Nursing, for her study, "Freestanding Birth Center to Hospital Perinatal Transfers of Care: A Multi-Method Study of Outcomes and Experiences in Arizona." The recipient of the 2025 Carol A. Lindeman Award for a New Researcher is Kimberly Brinker from the University of Washington School of Nursing for her paper titled "Health Department Factors That Aid Cross-Sector Collaboration for Physical Activity." The committee did not grant the Marty Lentz WIN/CANS Dissertation Grant in 2025.

STUDENT ENGAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Chair: Carlie Felion, Darcy Copeland, Amanda Keddington, Siri Gurunam Kaur Khalsa, Sara Nugent, Kelsey Pascoe

The committee developed the program for student breakfasts at the 2025 conference and will be conducting a new survey of student attendees at the breakfasts.