2023 Awards Committee

Chair: Daniel Heldring Member: Mark Melnyk Member: Zarina Infante, TDM-CP Member: Allison Miskell

Microsoft Starbucks Coffee Company **Commute Seattle** King County Metro

2023 Awards Judges

Jessica Alba. TDM-CP. Stanford University Katie Marticke, TDM-CP, UrbanTrans Georgina Arias, TDM-CP, University of California. Santa Cruz Eric Balliet, Arlington County Commuter Services Destree Bascos, TDM-CP, Steer Roxanne Beltz, TDM-CP, Robixy, LLC Dave Bergart, TDM-CP, Luum by HealthEquity Chris Bongorno, TDM-CP, Bongorno Consulting Adrienne Boyd, TDM-CP, UrbanTrans North America Mitchell Brown, King County Metro Aaron Buckley, TDM-CP, Mayo Clinic Michael Chung, City of Toronto Jane Davaransky, TDM-CP, Meta Rachel DeCordoba, King County Metro Tom Devlin, City of Durham Geoff England, TDM-CP, Steer Kelly Fetterman, TDM-CP, Agile Mile, Inc. Sabrina Green, TDM-CP, Atlanta Regional Commission Diane Hanson, TDM-CP, AECOM Olivia Holden, TDM-CP, City of Vancouver, WA Estella Hollander, TDM-CP, Mountain Line Eva Hsu, TDM-CP, ICF Gary Hsueh, TDM-CP, CHS Consulting Daniel Kaempff, TDM-CP, Metro Wendy Karsch, TDM-CP, Utah Transit Authority Evan Kenward, TDM-CP, Bikes Make Life Better Andrew Koved, Nelson\Nygaard Penny Lara, King County Metro Melody Lin, Genentech Darin Lund, TDM-CP, TriMet Mia Zmud, Metropia, Inc

Joan Lyons, Stewart

North America Connie McGee, Commute with Enterprise Jaime McKay, TDM-CP, Transit Services of Frederick County Allison Miller, City of London Ontario Stacy Newcomer, TDM-CP, AECOM John O'Keeffe. RideFinders Jeff Olschwang, Stanford Jamila Owens, TDM-CP, Houston-Galveston Area Council Melrose Pan, Oak Ridge National Laboratorv Ross Peizer, City of Seattle Brian Robinson, TDM-CP, Innovative **TDM Solutions** Heather Salem, TDM-CP, Genentech Ellie Smith, Seattle Department of Transportation David Sorrell, TDM-CP, UC Berkelev Heidi Speight, Salesforce Stan Suchan. Washington State Department of Transportation Mary Thomasmeyer, TDM-CP, Steer Kendall Tiffany, TDM-CP, Loudoun **County Transit and Commuter Services** Lauren Travis, TDM-CP, AECOM Allie Velleca, TDM-CP, AECOM Tracy Wang, TDM-CP, Town of Los Gatos Lilliane Webb, Ann Arbor Area **Transportation Authority** Johann Weber, TDM-CP, UrbanTrans North America

Live from Seattle, Washington

ACT NATIONAL AWARDS 2023

Recognizing outstanding achievements in Transportation Demand Management (TDM).

ACT National Award Categories

Award Finalists



- Employee Transportation Champion Presented to a person who is responsible for transportation programs at a worksite that best demonstrates a commitment to promoting and advancing commuter transportation options at their work site.
- Commuting Options Recognizes an exemplary program, policy, or service that advances one of the following commuting options: Active Commuting, Public Transit, Ridesharing, Telework/ Hybrid Workplace, and Best Overall Benefit Program.
- Excellence in Planning Recognizes public agencies at the local, regional or state level who have taken notable steps to incorporate TDM into their transportation and land use planning process.
- Excellence in Research Acknowledges an ACT member or organization for recent research in Transportation Demand Management, one of its sub-disciplines, or in a related field when the research demonstrates applicability to TDM goals. Collaborative efforts may be recognized so long as one member of the team is an ACT member.
- Excellence in Advocacy Acknowledges an ACT member whose advocacy efforts on behalf of TDM, whether at the local, state, and/or federal level have been exceptional. The award celebrates effort, innovation, efficiency, and effectiveness and includes both individual advocacy efforts along with the organization and encouragement of others' participation in advocacy.
- NEW Outstanding Public-Private Partnership Recognizes an instance in which one or more public sector organizations (e.g., municipality, transit agency) collaborated with one or more private sector organizations (e.g., employer) on a successful TDM initiative that benefited the participating organizations as well as the communities they serve or are a part of.
- Outstanding TMA Presented to the TMA that best uses its public/private partnerships to achieve local or regional transportation goals.
- Outstanding DEI Recognizes achievements in supporting diverse populations and creating belonging in the commuter transportation and Transportation Demand Management (TDM) environments. The company or individual nominated inspires social justice initiatives and advances DEI practices.
- Marketing and Outreach Recognizes strategies or campaigns that were designed to educate and inform an identified audience about their commuting options, the impacts of transportation on the environment, transportation planning, and other related topics and concerns. The winning strategies and campaigns will have demonstrated a high level of creativity and originality and can show measurable results including increased audience engagement, increased brand awareness, mode shift, or significant behavior change.

Employee Transportation Champion Award

Hossein Barahimi, King County Metro Sarah Hollis, Netflix

Commuting Options Awards

Active Commuting

City of Durham Bull-E Bike Program Susquehanna Regional Transportation Partnership

Public Transit

Community Transit

Ridesharing

RideFinders City of Inglewood Julie Munnerlyn, University of California, Santa Cruz

Best Overall Program

Princeton University

Excellence in Planning Award

Maricopa County Travel Reduction Program Commuting Solutions

Excellence In Research Award

Denver Regional Council of Governments Georgia Commute Options – Atlanta Regional Commission

Excellence in Advocacy Award

David Frazier, The Routing Company Oaks and Spokes

Outstanding Public-Private Partnership

Town of Chapel Hill Susquehanna Regional Transportation Partnership Rhode Island Public Transit Authority

Outstanding TMA

GVF

Assembly Connect TMA

Outstanding DEI

Karen Parkhurst, Thurston Regional Planning Council City of Durham Bull-E Bike Program

Marketing and Outreach

Print Marketing

goDCgo

Social Media Marketing Transit Services of Frederick County Georgia Commute Options

Overall Marketing Campaign Award

Go Bloomington goDCgo

Burbank Transportation Management Organization